It Happened to Me …

There I was, standing in front of the mirror, gazing at my oh so charming reflection and running my fingers down my tresses [ ๐Ÿ˜‰ ] when it caught my eye. Yes! Right then! At that precise moment! And then the world around me froze. My clock skipped a second and my heart skipped a beat. The moment had finally come when I had to face the truth. The laws of nature were not going to change for me, nor were the planets going to deviate from their path. It stood out, like a comet shooting across the darkness of the sky, like the silver line that surrounds every cloud- yes Ladies and Gentlemen, there it was- my first grey hair.

Now, this happens to everyone. It was nothing to get worried about. It is an inevitable and natural phenomenon caused by the loss of pigmentation. Notwithstanding such a reasonable explanation, I was petrified. Was it supposed to happen so early? I guessed not. Was I growing old? I hoped not. Iย stood there and wondered- how could something so diminutive, just a strand of hair which was barely a couple of micrometres in diameter and had changed its colour a little bit, have such a massive impact on my mind.


I started thinking of a plausible explanation. Maybe I could attribute the greying of my hair to the lack of proper hair care. I remembered how my mother used to pour oodles of hair oil onto my scalp and how much I resented it. As a child I always tried to escape those horrendous oil massages or any other hair care sessions for that matter. It was quite possible that my carelessness and resentment eventuated in the greying of my hair. Then I thought a little more. Maybe I was jumping to a conclusion. Maybe improper hair care was not the reason. May be, my grey hair was a manifestation of all the wisdom and knowledge that I had acquired over the years. “Why not?”, I asked myself. That thought was justifiable. My life had indeed undergone aย phenomenal change over the past one year. Gone were the days when I used frolic in school or bunk classes in college. Now I was battling the real world, dealing with people who were unknown to me so far, trying to learn their ways and most importantly ย trying to carve a niche for myself.


That thought was quite comforting. Yes. That was the correct explanation. It had to be. And then, that grey hair, which gave me a panic attack some time back, seemed acceptable. I looked at the mirror. It appeared like a string of diamonds embellishing my hair. I tied my hair into a neat ponytail making no attempt to hide it.


So, I am happy to announce that now I am the proud owner of a grey hair. I congratulate all the people who already have one. For those who don’t, I’ll pray that you get one soon ๐Ÿ˜‰
Image: http://www.fotosearch.com/

Tags:

9 responses to “It Happened to Me …”

  1. shanky says :

    >congratulations on your first "wisdom" hair ๐Ÿ˜› lets leave it at that

  2. Chhavi says :

    >thank you shashank…… "wisdom hair" that's what we should call it ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Gautam says :

    >Awesome post!

  4. Chhavi says :

    >Thank you so much… ๐Ÿ™‚ Do visit again ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Bikramjit Singh Mann says :

    >hmmmm nice one .. well you dont know yet but there are people who dont have wisdom at all LIKE ME … ๐Ÿ™‚ he he he he so rest assured the grey hair indeed are WISDOM hair… loved reading this ๐Ÿ™‚ Bikram's

  6. Chhavi says :

    >he he he…. don't say that bikram…. I am sure you are very wise….. anyway…. thanks for liking the post… keep visiting

  7. Punam says :

    >Chhavi, trust you to write such a glorifying post on white hair.. that should make me wiiiiiiiiiiiissssssssssssee… But considering all the bucks I spend on trying to hide them, I am anything but wiser. he he he. Welcome to the gang, dear!! New blog template.. acha hai. Miss u so much. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Chhavi says :

    >Thanks Poonam….. I miss you too….. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thankfully I have just one white hair right now….. I am as wise as i can be…… So, I am praying that i do not get another one ๐Ÿ˜‰

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. It Happened to Me (II)… | The Broken Nib - July 11, 2011

Leave a Reply

