Mission Impossible…

OK ladies and gentleman, the time has come for me to accept the truth. I am becoming fat and no one can deny that. Gone are the days when I could pick out the XS (extra small ) size from the shopping mall and flaunt it in front of my friends. Now I have become a big fat M (medium) and no amount of cheering up is going to change that fact. So, I have decided to make my peace with it.

What’s the harm in becoming fat. I mean, the entire universe is expanding and if I add a couple of kilograms to it I really don’t think it’s going to make much of a difference. Also, the apocalyptic predictions made by the ancient oracles suggest that the world is going to end in 2012 and given the fact that I have roughly one and a half years to live, losing weight should probably be the last thing on my mind. Hence, I have decided to put an end to my quest of losing weight and enjoy my life to the fullest.

Eight months ago I was devastated when I had hopped on to the weighing machine totally oblivious of the fact that I had put on weight. The dial began to turn clock wise and refused to stop. 25, 30, 35, 40…. It kept going on and on. I was expecting it to come to a halt at some point. But no! It didn’t. You can’t even fathom how horrible I felt at that moment.  I weighed X kilograms (I have no intention to reveal my weight at this point). That was not supposed to happen. Not to me! Not to the girl who was no taller than five feet two inches.

It was then that I decided that this uncontrolled addition of body mass had to stop at any cost. At that precise moment I swore to all my Gods that I would reduce my weight. I embarked upon, what I now call, Mission Impossible. I came back home that evening and looked at my image in the mirror. I had indeed put on weight. A lot of weight. In a span of four months I had put on ten kilograms. I was so busy with my work that I did not even realize I was become fatter by the day.

From the very next day I started gathering all the information on weight loss. Steam bath, Super Sauna Belt, Ab Butterflies (a butterfly shaped device which removes excess weight around the abdominal area), Morning Jogger (an equipment that helps you jog in the comfort of your bed) – the list was endless. For your information, these are products that guarantee instant weight loss. On consulting some of my friends I found out that these things were nothing but hokum and decided to switch over to the conventional methods of weight loss (the ones which are slow and laborious). Off I went to the market and purchased everything that was necessary- jogging shoes, track pants, t-shirts, swim suit, dumbbells, hula hoops and what not. I even borrowed an iPod from one of my friends. After all nothing relaxes you more than some good music during a tiring workout (at that point I had assumed that my workouts were going to be tiring).

I jogged for about a week, swam for three days and attended yoga classed for a day or two. Thereafter, all my equipments were dumped in the closet, yoga classes were discontinued. I convinced myself that I had shed enough weight to put an end to my so-called fitness regime. And then I took out all my party dresses and tried to stuff myself into them. I did not succeed. That was bound to happen. After all, I was trying to defy the laws of physics. I mean, how was a body supposed to fit inside a container whose volume was much lesser than its own.

The only option left was dieting (read starvation). Sadly it did not work out either ( I am a foodie…  I simply love food). I tried to cheer my self by watching television. But Munni and Sheila, with their super slim abs and perfect figure, drove me to frustration. How was I supposed to watch these bollywood babes shake their bellies to sizzling item numbers when mine was gradually shifting outwards.

In an attempt to make my body fit I was ruining my mind. I was spending sleepless nights contemplating how to lose weight. After some time I realized that it was not worth that much trouble.  Now I have officially quit this mission. If my weight has to increase so be it. I have stopped breaking my head over this issue.

So, if any one of wants to visit my house with a box of chocolates or gajar ka halwa he/she is most welcome. 🙂

16 responses to “Mission Impossible…”

  1. Bikram says :

    yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy yessssssssssssssssssssssss 🙂 now thats my type of article .. god what all do i not do t okeep the weight in check..
    but yeh jo wieght hai na yeh maanta hi nahin 🙂

    Losing weight is very difficult , the problem is losing it and them maintaining it .. but i would not advice you to give it up altogether one shud do some sort of exercise , it doesnot have to be too much and alots of it. and my idea of each chocs or other food is ..

    where others think that they can loose the calories from one choc by running i mile i think the other way I run a mile so i can have a choc 🙂

    I can understand the frusttration.. 🙂
    I get up at 6am to go to the gym every day 😦 there shud be a medicine ek goli khao or ek kilo weight loose karo 🙂 he he he

  2. Chhavi says :

    Bikram!!!!! 😦 Yaar weight kam hi nahi hota……I know I should not quit… but there is a limit to everything…… I I’ll try to do some exercise…. may be pick up a sport like badminton….. lets see 🙂 I am glad that you can understand my feelings 🙂 As far as chocolates are concerned……. I can’t stop eating chocolates..not ay any cost…….. I loooooooooooooooove chocolates 🙂 May be they should invent some chocolate that helps you reduce weight… What say???

    • Bikram says :

      That would be marvellous and the shakes too.. ice cream shakes that help u loose weight .. and the Non Veg curries that u put some masalla in and you loose weight WOWWOWO now thats a good idea …

      Make alcohol that makes u loose weight he hehe what a lovely life it would be.

      • Chhavi says :

        Now thats what I call a brilliant idea….. Bikram, my friend, we will become millionaires if we are able to make this happen 🙂 Alcohol that makes you lose weight… Amazing 🙂

    • Bikram says :

      And yes take a game or jsut walk take up walking or cycling to where u go .. jsut do something tht you dont do everyday …

  3. Pixie says :

    All the very best my dear! 😀
    I keep fluctuating from my ideal weight to a few kgs over weight!! I do the diets faithfully and I eat faithfully as well!! 😀 :mrgreen:

  4. Neetisha says :

    I seriously don’t believe you… Chhavi has put on wait??? Its practically impossible!

  5. Deboshree says :

    Ha ha ha… excuse my laughter but reading about your mission was super fun! 😀

    I am sorry nothing worked out to satisfaction. Maybe another time?
    I too am conscious about my weight. I keep a check on my diet and walk a lot. I am blessed with a lean family lineage and that helps…but when there are days when I feel I am putting on weight, I resort to instant repair techniques. May the good Lord help keep us fit. 😀

    Oh by the way, brownie points for talking about Munni/Sheila. What’s with the world obsessing over thin, thin, thin? Fit isn’t the same as thin.

    • Chhavi says :

      Deboshree!! Welcome dear..you have no idea what I have been through…….I just hope that things will work out in the future……. And yes… Munni and Sheila are a real menace……. I am glad you had fun reading this post….. 🙂

  6. sm says :

    its difficult to loose weight.
    good luck

  7. wanderlustathome says :

    My soul sister, this post is the story of my life 🙂

Leave a Reply

