Spoons, Pens and What Not…

I sit in my balcony, with a Nicholas Sparks in my hand. A steaming hot cup of coffee is placed on the  side table. Gentle breeze caresses my face; the jasmine tree in the neighbour’s compound sends out a sweet fragrance which treats my senses. The protagonist of the novel takes his lover in his arms and wipes away the tears from her cheeks. He is about to plant a kiss on her lips and my heart goes awww.  Just then, at that precise moment, some irritating soul rings the doorbell. I curse him  for having done so, grab a spoon which is lying on the side table, place it between the pages and rush to open the door.

Spoon? Yes. A spoon.That serves as my bookmark. I can be quite innovative when it comes to remembering the page at which I have left a particular novel. I know for a fact that I cannot rely on my memory as it is lesser than useless when it comes to remembering anything. I have difficulty remembering the names of all my relatives, people whom I have known for ages. As far as using a conventional book mark is concerned, I am too careless to keep it safely and too lazy to buy or make a new one when the previous one gets lost. I can’t remember the last time a used a traditional bookmark with “Books are your Best Friends” or “Scorpions are determined, passionate and obstinate” printed across it. I was probably in the 6th standard when I used it. So, now I use my improvised bookmarks (basically things that are placed at an arm’s length). Cheap, easy to use and readily available. 🙂

What else do I use? Here’s the list.

Pens: One can always find a pen lying around. I think it one of the most obvious things one can use.

Bus Tickets: Well, I take a bus to work everyday. I almost always have a bus ticket in my jeans pockets. All I need to do is dig my hands inside.

Money: I often place a 10 or 20 rupee note between the pages. The next time I open my book these hidden treasures give me a pleasant surprise.  🙂

Room Keys: An  inconvenient choice I must say. I often spend hours looking for my keys afterwards.

Earrings: It might be hard for many of you to assimilate this news, but I did use one of my earrings on one occasion. I was wearing only one earring for the remaining part of the day  Trendy, isn’t it?

Pendrives: My very own digital bookmarks. 🙂

Boarding Passes: “Recycle paper, reuse your boarding passes”.

Kajal Pencils/Combs/Lipsticks/Goggles/Bracelets: Who says that these are nothing but fashion accessories?

Chocolate Bars: Now you know the secret to my ever-increasing weight. 🙂

Spectacles: The mark of a true bibliophile. “If I can’t look at my books I won’t look at anything else” 🙂

These were some of my rather unusual bookmarks. Do tell me about the peculiar things you use. 🙂

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “Spoons, Pens and What Not…”

  1. Bikram says :

    I agree 100% + 100% with what you wrote on Scorpions 🙂 he he hehe

    and what a list of bookmarks there , I dont get much time to read now but yeah i have used a few that you have mentioned even some twigs cause in summers sitting out in the sun in my garden nothing else but some twigs or a leaf 🙂 does the trick

    Nice one …

    • Chhavi says :

      Twigs!!! That is an interesting choice……. I have never used one…. I’ll use it the next time when I read a book in the open 🙂
      Btw, how many scorpions do you know? Are you one?

  2. Chatterbox says :

    All those are interesting bookmarks, and I can’t resist the temptation to add that you need to be careful about looking for your bookmarks before deciding on book-swapping or lending your books to anyone 😉 😆

    Nicholas Sparks books are a reader’s delight 😛
    Which one are you reading??

    • Chhavi says :

      Yes…. Your are right…. Imagine what will happen if I give my room keys away 🙂
      Currently I am not reading a Nicholas Sparks book. The last one that I read was The Guardian 🙂

  3. Pepper says :

    Lol. I never use a bookmark. I simply rely on my memory. I collect bookmarks, but usually they are so pretty, I am scared I’ll lose them if I use them.

    And putting in keys and earrings, doesn’t it spoil the shape of your book when you slam it shut and tuck it in somewhere? That is always my biggest fear.

    • Chhavi says :

      You are blessed with a good memory, Pepper. How I envy you 😦 I wish I could do that. These bookmarks do not spoil the shape of my books. I use them for thin books, not for the bulky ones. 🙂

  4. Smita says :

    Of your list I have used the following as Book Mark
    Earrings
    Boarding Passes
    Spectacles &
    Money

    😀 😀 😀 And besides these u can also find me using the price tags as book mark !!

  5. Deboshree says :

    Whoa what a hilarious post. Ha ha ha I loved all the ideas except the earrings. They are sacred for me and I can’t bear the thought of losing one. 😛
    I generally have things like clothes labels (those cardboard ones you know) at my easy disposal. And there’s always the random pen or ruler.

    • Chhavi says :

      Thank You Deboshree… I am so glad you liked it…….. Well, I never wear expensive earrings… So I have no problem even if I misplace them 🙂

  6. Saritha says :

    I don’t use bookmark at all but loved your idea of using those things as bookmarks….

Leave a Reply

