Grown Up…

I was standing outside the Millennium Mall* waiting for my friend to arrive. The sun rays were piercing my skin and I was beginning to get impatient. As I was scanning the entire place hoping that she would spring out from some corner, my eyes well on an old couple. Judging by their white hair I guessed they must have been in their sixties. The lady had a youthful smile on her face. There were fine lines around her eyes but they still had a childlike twinkle. The gentleman looked absolutely adorable in his shirt and checked pants that were held in place with the help of leather galluses.

The couple stepped onto the pavement and prepared to cross the road. As the gentleman put his right foot forward the lady grabbed his hand and snapped ” Be careful! You must look both ways before crossing the road”. He freed his hand and replied angrily ” Stop being so fussy. I am a grown up. I am no longer a child.” He crossed his arms and stared at his wife. His face bore the look of a child who had just been denied a chocolate bar.

A warm smile spread across my face. For a moment I forgot about my friend and the scorching sun.

* Name Changed

[ Based on an incident narrated by one of my friends]

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “Grown Up…”

  1. Deboshree says :

    Oh my. That was adorable.
    Old couples remain my favourite people in the world – they exemplify a life well lived. They stand for love that stands all tests of time. I hope this couple has many more years together. 😀 😀

  2. Praveen says :

    😀 lovable incident.

    This reminded me of an incident.I was in the bus, just to get over the boredom, i started looking to people in the bus.There i saw an old couple, sitting together.The husband was holding his wife’s hand.It was really cute.That made me smile and the boredom was all gone.

  3. Chatterbox says :

    What a sweet anecdote 😀 😀
    You brought a much needed smile back on my face with this sweet post 😛

  4. Vinay says :

    oh, everyone has a child in them I think 🙂 my grandfather would react the same way for sure if grandma would do that 😉

  5. Saritha says :

    Sweet couple.Me to admire them when i hear there childish talks 🙂

  6. ES says :

    I think you are the first one to change the name of a Mall!! 🙂 Well actually my three year old niece thinks she’s grown up too 🙂

Leave a Reply

