Battling the Cyber Crisis…

For the past few weeks my inbox has become a cyber junkyard where all the spammers in this world discard their digital waste. Or, may be, all of a sudden the netizens have experienced a very strong attraction towards me given the reference to my slender waist, which, mind you, is not that slender, in one of my previous posts. Anyway, whatever it is that is causing them to follow me wherever I go, just like the Vodafone puppy does and as flattering as it might seem, I wish they will stop being my ardent fans as soon as possible. I am deeply grateful to them for having conferred upon me this celebrity status but these guys should understand that even celebrities need some alone time.

Whenever I visit a website to make an online purchase I always forget to uncheck that little square box which says “Do you wish to receive updates”. My order might take a fortnight to be delivered to my address but it does not take more than a few nanoseconds for their so-called “updates” reach my mailbox. They do offer the me luxury of clicking on the “Unsubscribe” tab but my experiences have convinced me that they generally don’t work. In a few cases I don’t even visit their site to make an online transaction but these lurkers, who might give a few detectives from the Scotland Yard a run for their money, are able to hunt me down. And what comes as a greater surprise to me is that they are able to make my inbox their permanent abode. The spam folder sits silently in one corner waiting for new visitors to arrive.

I have received e-mails that have left me in splits of laughter.

Digilog Systems promise that they will protect my vehicle from theft. Ironical, since I don’t even possess a vehicle which might get stolen.

HDFC Bank thinks that I am one of their bona fide customers who deserves to be pre-approved for a platinum credit card. My current debit card is enough to vandalise my plans to save a few bucks for a secure future. Now these people want a credit card, and a platinum one at that, to give it company!

Naukri.com has never failed to give me my weekly job alerts in spite of the fact that I have never requested its assistance. Has it sensed that my current employers are going to kick me out?

Oureducation.in has decided to give me an honorary MBA degree. Well, after Amitabh Bachchan and M.S. Dhoni who have received such honours it will definitely be Chhavi Kapoor who’ll be remembered for her glorious contribution to the field which I have yet to figure out.

And I can’t even count the number of times I have been selected for a million dollar prize but a rough estimate tells me that the money should be enough to fill a swimming pool sized room in which Uncle Scrooge used to dive.

Anyway, my important e-mails often find themselves buried under a pile of these menacing spam mails and locating them is as herculean a task as finding a needle in a haystack. So, in order to sort things out a little bit and also because I was inspired by a few bloggers who have email IDs dedicated to their blogs, I decided to create one for myself. I went to the “Settings” panel and changed the “Administrator e-mail address”. No sooner did I make the change than my WordPress account went absolutely berserk. Half my updates went to my previous mail address, some of them to my new one and the remaining got lost in the labyrinths of the blogosphere, facing threats from nasty viruses and beastly malwares. Sadly, my question “How to divert post alerts to new e-mail address in WordPress?” met with a plethora a technical jargon on Google.com which did not help me at all. I visited the WordPress forums and tried to seek some help. I made a few more changes in my settings but in the end I was forced to unsubscribe from a few blogs and then re-subscribe to them. (Thankfully, I follow most of the sites through my reader.) Many of you might have received an e-mail saying

“Howdy, Chhavi has just subscribed to your blog. This means they will be notified every time you publish a post. Congratulations”

and wondered “ Wasn’t this pest of a blogger already following me?” Now you have the answer. Please don’t think of me as a psychopathic cyber stalker who follows, re-follows and re-re-follows peoples’ blogs. I can assure you I am quite sane.

I am receiving all the updates now and I hope that things are working fine. However, I am still not certain if my new posts are spamming my beloved readers’ inbox or not 😉 I hope that they are. So, if this post reaches you in good health do let me know.   🙂

Tags: , ,

16 responses to “Battling the Cyber Crisis…”

  1. Destination Infinity says :

    About people being upset about others (re)following our blogs, I should say here that I have created two email addresses dedicated to follow my blog – In the beginning, when no one was following my blog I hated to see ‘0’ count every time I checked. So, these dummy accounts were created especially for following my own blogs!

    I am also thinking of a strategy of creating dummy WP.com blogs which will comment on my top ten songs posts. The recent one went by with 0 comments. And I would have been ok with it, if this word ‘infinity’ was not there in my blog name!! 😛

    Destination Infinity

  2. Bikram says :

    DOnt worry your new posts has spammed my inbox and here i am he he ehe commenting .. the wonderful world of Tenchology.. sometimes it des act funny ..

    I am sure you will get the hang onf it wit hthe new id .. thats why i didnot change my id I have set some filters for important ones and the rest that go to the inbox I do a daily select all and Trash 🙂 simple way of keeping everything in line ..

    • Chhavi says :

      It does act funny at times. He he he.
      Bikram, I am too lazy to clean my inbox everyday. I wish I could acquire this good habit from you 🙂
      Good to know I am still spamming your mailbox 😉 😉

  3. sibichen says :

    Have an e-mail exclusively for spams and forwards!

    • Chhavi says :

      Welcome sibichen… Thanks for stopping by. An email id exclusively for mails and spams! I have never heard of that. How do you go about it ??? 🙂

  4. ajay says :

    I always remember to make sure that I uncheck those tiny box (pests) because once you are an unsuspecting subscriber they’ll try every ploy to make sure that you aren’t able to unsubscribe. 😀

    Ha ha. You did spam my Reader and that’s how I landed up here 😛

    • Chhavi says :

      Yeah..they do ensure that I am unable to subscribe. It is like an unbreakable bond 😉
      So glad to know I am still spamming your Reader. 😉

  5. rajlakshmi says :

    I still get those!! Wasn’t careful while setting up my account 😛 thankfully everything workd out 4 u 🙂

    • Chhavi says :

      Thankfully it did work out for me. One has to be very careful while setting up new accounts. 🙂 Welcome Rajlakshmi… Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  6. Pixie says :

    oh yes..!! And also the spam mails about how to reduce weight in 30 days by just breathing!! 😉
    lol!

  7. Deboshree says :

    Email is such a jerk at times. I get those job alerts today. Even SMS notifications about the people who have scanned my resume. I have won some 4-5 trips to the Maldives and one to good old Nepal. I couldn’t find time though. I was holidaying in Macau at that time. 😀
    I am glad your email is better mannered now. Teach mine some lesson won’t you?

    • Chhavi says :

      Ha ha…I’d love to..Although I am not sure if it will help. Email can be a menace at times. And don’t even get me started about email notifications. Human beings have stopped contacting me on my mobile phone. 😦 Only these spammers do.

Leave a Reply

