A Treat for My Senses…

I get frustrated, almost cynical, when I start talking about the traffic in Bangalore or the heavily chlorinated water which gushes out of the tap every morning. The air pollution makes me nauseated and a million vehicles, all honking in unison, make my ear drums ache. Having spent most of my life in a small city, the hustle bustle of a city as big as Bangalore always leaves me a little lost. I complain incessantly about the buses that always seem to be bursting with office goers and the auto walas who ask you to part with a mini fortune for taking you to place barely two kilometres away. However, comes the month of July, bringing with it cool, crisp winds and cloudy skies, and my soul starts dancing with merriment. No matter how burdened my mind is with house hold chores and office work a blast of the fresh, monsoon air is all it takes to melt my worries away. I love the climate of Bangalore and monsoons make it all the more delightful.

What is it about this season which pleases me so much?

Monsoons are a treat for my senses, natures own sweet way of giving me a cost-free full body massage (who wants to spend thousands of rupees in a commercial spa anyway?).

The touch of the rain on my skin makes me ecstatic. A rain drop gently hits my face as I walk down the road and I look at the sky with anticipation, waiting for the clouds to explode. And after a few minutes, when they do, I become a mischievous seven year old girl once again. A soft whiff of air caresses my face and makes me beam from ear to ear. The feeling I get when my hands are wrapped around a mug of hot coffee cannot be conveyed through words.

The pitter patter of the rainfall creates a music so enchanting that it always leaves my ears wanting for more. Whenever the wind makes a swishing sound I find myself bending over the railing to listen to what they have to say. The leaves that brush against each other and whisper a secret message always leave me wonder struck.

I adore the rainy season for the myriad scents it carries. In the evening as I make my way towards home a waft of air  heavily laden with the aroma of spices enters my nostrils and I know that pakodas are being deep fried in one of the neighbouring apartments. The fragrance of freshly brewed coffee never seems as alluring as it does in this season. I often find myself sauntering towards the nearest coffee shop even when a heavy load of work awaits me in the office. And what can I say about the scent of drenched earth. Every morning I stand in my balcony and take a generous dose of this earthy smell. Saying that it transports me to heaven and leaves me in a trance would be an understatement.

The recently washed flora with glistening leaves and vibrant flowers is a sight to behold. I almost giggle with childlike excitement when I watch tiny buds tossing their heads with all their might each time the wind blows a tad too strong. The trees, which sway from side to side and do a little jig of theirs, are such a pleasure to watch. The green on the plants is so delightfully fresh that I don’t mind staring at it for hours at a stretch. Nature, on the whole, seems bejeweled. The tiny raindrops on the leaves seem like little drops of emeralds; the ones on the crimson flowers, rubies. The entire spectacle is supremely majestic and yet so soothing. It relaxes my eyes immensely and makes them strain free.

At this time of the year my diet plans conveniently take a back seat as I wipe off plates full of oily samosas and pakodas one after the other. No amount of low-calorie salads and sandwiches can satiate my appetite for aloo parathas with dollops of rich butter, gulab jamuns soaked in sugar syrup and kachodis with tangy, green chutney. My taste buds spring to life at the mere thought of a buttery donut oozing steaming hot chocolate sauce or a cup of piping hot Cuppuccino making its way towards my lips. (I can feel a blast of moisture inside my mouth right now!) For the few moments that these culinary delights stay on my tongue I experience an indescribable bliss.

This season renders me nostalgic and rekindles the memories of my childhood days. Sometimes I picture my mother with her hands dipped in the pakoda batter as I sit perched on the kitchen platform yelling “Why do you have to dip your fingers in this thing? It’s so messy. Why can’t you use a spoon instead?” It has been a couple of years since I last spent a rainy evening with my mother and those delicious pakodas have still not been successfully replicated. I guess you just can’t do it with a spoon. Quite often I reminisce about those carefree days when I used to jump from one puddle to the other, splashing water on either sides each time I did so, much to the chagrin of my mother. Those innumerable games played with friends and siblings will always be etched in my mind. The joy of not attending school on account of a “rainy day” can never be forgotten.

Monsoon is the time when Nature dons its finest attire and glows like a shimmering creek. I find myself awestruck by its charm.

The minuscule drops, the lush green trees, the windy skies- all take on the responsibility of serving mankind. My senses never feel as pampered as they do in the rainy season.

I might crib about the heavy traffic and crowded buses in Bangalore but I can never thank it enough for the beautiful gift it gives me at this time of the year.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

23 responses to “A Treat for My Senses…”

  1. Destination Infinity says :

    During this time, it should be raining in Bglore I guess, but the rains come at a certain timing. So, we can be prepared for it. But your description makes me feel I missed a lot when I was there! Winter was difficult for me in that part of the world – Too cold!

    That is mainly because, I was born and brought up in Chennai. Here, its summer for 9 months and mild cool air blows in the other three months, so that the heat can be felt even more hotter when the summer starts again shortly! It rains here on one day for sure – The Deepavali day!! Think about eating hot vadas and sipping hot Tea/Coffee during Summer afternoons in Chennai – People actually do it for pleasure!!! 🙂

    • Chhavi says :

      Yes. Its raining in Bangalore these days and the weather is lovely.. This season makes me a little poetic so I tend to express myself the way I did in this post. It gets chilly but staying snuggled up in a blanket with a book and a cup of coffee can be quite fun. 🙂

      I’ve heard it’s pretty hot in Chennai. Eating hot vadas and sipping hot tea on a hot summer afternoon is not something I’d do 🙂

  2. madeleine sara says :

    Lovely nostalgic look at rain. I remember my mum saying that the thing she missed most when she lived in Canada was drizzle! There’s something cosy about being indoors and looking at at rain sometimes too :O)

  3. ajay says :

    As I’m writing this, it’s raining outside and some stray tiny droplets are making their way into my room. The rainy season always makes me nostalgic about days when we would be bound indoors all huddled together eating steaming pakoras, sipping tea, watching TV, reading books, or just normal random talk while the rain would be lashing outside with all its might and beauty! I so miss those days. 😦 Very beautiful post. 🙂

    • Chhavi says :

      Thanks Ajay. This season makes me nostalgic too. I am always reminded of those good old days when the rainy season was enjoyed to the fullest with friends and siblings and not spent in a 4×4 cubicle staring at the monitor 😦

  4. Deboshree says :

    Such a beautiful post Chhavi. 😀 You make the rains sound lovely. And lovely they are, except when you need to find your way in the traffic. I love watching rain, getting wet in a drizzle, dancing to a rain song. I feel rather blue now… given how bland this year’s monsoon has been. 😦

    • Chhavi says :

      Thanks Deboshree. Finding one’s way through the traffic in the monsoons can be quite frustrating.
      Dont feel depressed, the monsoons aren’t over as yet. You’ll probably find a lot of exciting things to do. 🙂

  5. Bikram says :

    ahhh I would love to be home in the Rain .. enjoying .. dont get to enjoy the rains here as mostly working ….

    I love RAIN especially the first few drops on parched land and the smelll .. and then nani would make Maal-Pua’s .. beautiful …

    • Chhavi says :

      Hot maal puas on a cold, rainy day! Thats sounds heavenly, Bikram.
      Do visit India during this season. I am sure you will have a great time with your friends and family.

  6. maverickshree says :

    Yes dear…Bangalore is beautiful city with lotsa greenery…I am just missing my good old B’lore days !

    • Chhavi says :

      Thank you for stopping by, maverickshree
      Bangalore is at its best at this time of the year.
      Awww. Just board the next flight and come here. Its lovely! 🙂

  7. Pixie says :

    I miss the rains and I miss Bangalore!
    here, it rains, but, it doesn’t have the same charm!!

    Bangalore is at its best from now till Summer! Enjoy! 🙂 🙂

    • Chhavi says :

      I am enjoying myself, Pixie. I am enjoying myself alot. Too bad that you are not getting a dose of the Bangalore rains this year. But you are getting the chance to explore a new country. So, have fun. 🙂

  8. Pepper says :

    Beautifully expressed. I *heart* the rains. Bombay rains to be more specific. But then, rains are magical, anywhere.

  9. The British Asian Blog says :

    Although I have never been to India (but do hope to visit soon) I can imagine the thrill of the rain, which you sensitively explained.
    Here in the UK, the rain for me along with thunder storms are magical. More so in the summer, when the thunderstorms appear to surprise you without any advance notice. My most memorable times during these conditions go back to the University period few years ago. During a long boring lecturer I was strategically position myself to sit on the highest row and near to huge windows – then watch how people dashed through the rainy storm, and how rain would increase it rainfall and decrease, and how the clouds would come and go. These are times which have embedded themselves into my mind.

    • Chhavi says :

      Welcome British Asian Blog! I have never been to UK but I can imagine how wonderful the rains over there must be.
      And talking about college days during the rainy seasons… We did pretty much the same thing i.e. taking the seat closest to the windows and enjoying the view outside.

  10. Kailash says :

    Hey Chhavi, You have beautifully presented the Monsoon season here, Its only then season when the nature get awake from a deep sleep and mountain,rivers are welcome the clouds via showing its beauty in terms of lush greenery and beautiful flowers. Its pretty awesome weather here in pune as well. Nicely written Thanks.

  11. Ketan Kadam says :

    Came across your blog after i googled to find out if i am the only one who feel’s the way i feel when i look at old monsoon picture or some random memory of that season brings a nostalgic downpour on me, so much so that i am almost get depressed for the entire day 😦 your write up almost sums up how i feel.

    • Chhavi says :

      🙂 Well, I won’t say that monsoons are depressing…. but they do make me nostalgic…. I am glad to know that you could relate to what I have written 🙂 keep visiting

Leave a Reply

